Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely
Awards - Past Winners
Share |

Innovative Program Award
CACEO is looking for innovative and effective code enforcement programs to be recognized at our Annual Seminar. If you know of a program that should be recognized, please send us your nomination letter that includes a description of the program and why it is innovative and effective.

Code Enforcement Officer of the Year
Throughout the code enforcement field, there are members who choose not to hold office or take leadership roles. However, their quiet support and dedication contribute greatly to our profession. Often, these unsung heroes work tirelessly behind the scenes to make your agencies run better, your communities safer or even just your day a little brighter.If you know a code enforcement officer who should be recognize for an outstanding performance or achievement in our profession, then please nominate this person for the Code Enforcement Officer of the Year.

The John Lowe Memorial Award
At the time of his unexpected death in 1990, John Lowe was a code enforcement officer for the City of San Jose. He was a founding member of the original CACEO, and participated in the meetings that led to the formation of CCEC, which went on to become CACEO as we know it today. John's dedication to the development of the code enforcement profession was a full-time occupation, but he always found time to recognize and appreciate all hard working officers. CCEC created an annual award that CACEO continues to present in John's name. No nominations will be accepted for this award; the CACEO Board of Directors is responsible for identifying this individual.

Lifetime Achievement Award

There exist in this organization individuals who have a long history with CACEO. Of those, there are individuals who have used their time with CACEO to make a positive, enduring impact on the association or the profession as a whole. Individuals eligible for this award will have been CACEO members in good standing for at least the past five consecutive years, and will have retired from the profession within the last two years.

2016 Winners

  • Josh Bowling, Monterey County- Code Enforcement Officer of the Year
  • Leonard Powell, City of Fremont- Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Short Term Rental Program, City of Santa Monica- Innovative Program Award

2015 Winners

  • Curt Michael, CIty of Concord - Code Enforcement Officer of the Year
  • Ed Nichols - Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Illegal Hotel/Motel Enforcament Program, City of San Gabriel - Innovative Program Award

2014 Winners

  • David Mason – Code Enforcement Officer of the Year
  • Linda Garner – Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Kerry Simpson – John Lowe Memorial Award
  • City of Santa Maria - Innovative Program Award

2013 Winners

2012 Winners

  • Doug Elliott – Code Enforcement Officer of the Year
  • City of Temple City – Innovative Program Award

2011 Winners

  • Dong Yoo – Code Enforcement Officer of the Year
  • Bryan MacDonald – John Lowe Memorial Award
  • City of Richmond - Innovative Program Award

2010 Winners

  • Linda Mejia – Code Enforcement Officer of the Year
  • Dirk Voss – John Lowe Memorial Award
  • City of Hayward - Innovative Program Award

2009 Winners

  • Kathryn Kirkbride – Code Enforcement Officer of the Year
  • Glenn Waggoner – Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Michael Reynolds – John Lowe Memorial Award
  • Santa Clarita – Innovative Program Award

2008 Winners

  • William F. Skiles – Code Enforcement Officer of the Year
  • Los Angeles County Chief Executive Office – Innovative Program Award

2007 Winners

  • Max Fernandez, City of Sacramento – John Lowe Memorial Award
  • Charlie Thomas – Lifetime Achievement Award
  • William “Boomer” Cossaboom – Lifetime Achievement Award